Emma, The Musical and musings on Jane Austen Adapted for the Stage

Last winter, a friend and I went to the Old Globe San Diego to see Emma, The Musical. Somehow Emma is the only Austen work I have read mulitple times and I am pretty comfortable with the plot. I really enjoyed the production, thought I was reticient in how Jane Austen would translate to the stage. All the actors were perfectly cast, with the exception of Emma herself, whose performance grated on me a bit. I don’t like overly perky behavior and she was a little too perky.

I thought I had read (please correct me if I am wrong) that Pride and Prejudice would be adapted into a musical. This interests me, especially with the rich dialogue between Darcy and Elizabeth.

How do you you feel about Jane’s works being adapted to the stage and as a musical?

I am hoping that Persuasion would be adapted; the treatement of Wentworth’s letter in the last pages would be worth the admission ticket alone! (in my opinion at least!)

Leave a comment