Book Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Delirium was the first e-book I have read. I am borrowing a nook color from my friend to test-drive an e-reader and see how I like it. I was a little wary of reading another dystopian, especially since I just finished the earth-shatteringly good Divergent. However, Delirium was on the nook and I was curious about it.

I really liked the tone and syntax of Oliver’s writing. It was easy to get into. I especially liked the quotes and passages against love and describing it as a disease before the narrative of each chapter began.

I did find it hard to relate to Lena in the beginning of the novel. For me, when I see Lena, I think of Lean Duchannes from Caster Chronicles. I liked Lena, but I didn’t fall in love with her. In some ways I liked her carefree best friend Hana better.

Who I did fall in love with was Alex. Wow, after that first meeting when Hana and Lena were riding their bikes, I was sold! I wanted desperately to dive deep into his back story and I am so glad we get more of it. The scene in the wilds with the open sky above them sealed it for me. It was such a powerful scene and electric connection between the two characters. How could you not fall in love with Alex at that moment?

The more I read of Delirium, the more I liked it. I love the juxtaposition of Lena counting down the days until her procedure, and then, after meeting Alex, her increasing terror on the days she and Alex and she and Hana have left together. There were some major plot points that I did not see coming and kudos to Oliver for putting them in.

What I was torn about was the ending. At first I was shocked and belligerent, that did NOT just happen! How could she (Lauren Oliver)! On the other hand, I was amazed at the seemingly bold ground-breaking ending she delivered. I think this is the first of its kind in the dystopian genre. Due to the major twists and ending, I am clamoring for Pandemonium and Hana. I need to find out what happens next after Lena escapes!

Pandemonium and Hana both launch on February 28!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

  1. Lucy says:

    I know just what you mean – that ending, OMG! I’m dying to get my hands on Pandemonium.
    Alex is a good character, and the book picked up for me too once Lena gets involved with him.
    That’s a good idea to test drive different e-readers. I like my nook color and the versatility of a tablet, but prefer to read on the kindle. So many options out there it’s hard to decide!

    • I was in shock! Total shock! I had hoped Hana would shed some light on it or give us an excerpt but it is not published until the same day Pandemonium is. Arg! Yes I enjoy the nook more, it’s easier for me but I also have an Amazon Prime account so I don’t know which would be the better investment for me!

Leave a Reply

