Divergent by Veronica Roth

I had heard of Divergent as early as Comic con when Lucy, from The Reading Date told me that it was one of the “best YA she’s read thus far in 2011”. This piqued my interest, but I wasn’t completely sold as I was overwhelmed with reading at the moment. This fall, my friend had bought a copy of Divergent and loaded it to me before she had even read it, knowing she was backlogged and couldn’t get to it for a while. Having just finished Legend by Marie Lu, I wasn’t sure if I was up for another dystopian as I wanted to branch out my reading a bit.

I started Divergent in late November, and from the first chapter I was hooked. My initial thoughts when the five factions were introduced is that this book is making me miss Matched by Ally Condie. I know feel this is Matched + Legend on Steroids! I loved the different factions, the test, the initiation. Best of all I loved Tris. She was so different from any other heroine, and she was very strong. Then…FOUR appeared  on the page. Since starting to read dystopian I have fallen in love with Xander, Peeta, Linden, Gabriel, Caleb, and Day, all of whom stole my heart. But FOUR, oh dear. As the Julio Iglesias song goes “To all the {guys} I’ve loved before…Sorry! Four shattered my love for all of them and wedged his way deep into my heart. He was so deep, so layered, so protective and so freaking awesome. I seriously want to marry Four now, or someone like him. I can actually say that without any creepiness since he is already 18 in the novel, haha.

But back to the plot and the world. I could not read this fast enough. I usually text or tweet my literature soul mate when I read a book but since I had her copy I texted my friend Ellen, oh, about 175 million times. OMG THIS is happening! OMG FOUR!!!!!! It’s (blank!) I’ve finished. okay I am purposely leaving things out because I like to be spoiler free. I laughed cried, had emotional breakdowns and heart attacks with this novel.

This is a set-your-brains-on-fire, can’t-sleep-until-ONE-more-chapter, oh-no-did-it-really-end-like-that novel. It is easily seen how this is an absolute standout in the YA dystopian genre. Roth is a master at plot and world building, and, my personal favorite, NO OBLIGATORY LOVE TRIANGLE!!!!!!!!!!

Immediately after finishing I googled to see if this was part of a trilogy, and thank goodness it is! Insurgent comes out on May 1, which is far too far away in my opinion!

2 thoughts on “Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. Lucy says:

    I loved your review! I’m so glad Divergent met your expectations – I have a tendency to sell this book hard so I’m glad it didn’t disappoint. The author was at Comic Con too – maybe she’ll come back this year for Insurgent. She is quoted as saying “No love triangles” so yay! Can’t wait for the next installment.
    PS. I can leave comments again 🙂

  2. Lucy says:

    Glad Divergent exceeded your expectations. I have a tendency to sell that one hard.
    I met Veronica Roth last year at Comic Con- hopefully she will be back this year to promote Insurgent. And yes, she has been quoted as saying “no love triangle!” so yay!
    Can’t wait for Insurgent. Loved your review!

Leave a Reply

