2012 Reading and Writing Resolutions

Happy New Year! I hope that all of you had a safe and Happy New Year and are enjoying the first day of 2012! Let’s hope the Mayans were wrong, shall we! My to-read list is too long to be interrupted by the end of the world! haha.

All joking aside, I’d like to share with you my reading and writing resolutions for 2012

Reading Resolutions:

I am not one to say I must read x number of books in a year. Job happens, extra job happens, life happens. Instead I will say I’d like to aim for 2-3 books finished per month.

I’d like to read more classics, and medieval literature. (more on these in a separate post).

I want to start a bookish club/discussion group with my friends.

I want to read  one classic work per month, hopefully not one I have already read.

I think those are enough resolutions for reading, let’s move on to those resolutions for writing.

Writing Resolutions:

I want to finish a first draft of at least one novel that I have been working on.

I want to plot out my book of poetry.

I need to plot out my memoir.

The novella I wrote when I was 12 needs to be typed up into my laptop (it only exists in hard copy form)

I want to research and write a draft of one article of literary criticism (instead of putting it off for another year!)

Now that I’ve shared with you my resolutions, what are some of yours?

Leave a Reply

