Book Review: Eve By Anna Carey

Eve was one of 6 or 7 books I picked up on the last day of Comic Con 2011. I had the opportunity to meet Anna Carey at a signing after the High School Bites panel. I was unfamiliar with Carey until Eve was pressed in my hand but Carey was very pleasant to talk to as she signed my copy. 

I read Eve a few months ago and have heard it compared to Hunger Game and The Handmaid’s Tale. While it is obviously dystopian, both books are in very separate castes. 

I really enjoyed the California, New America setting where Eve takes place. The pacing is a bit slow in parts, which made it hard to become completely engrossed in but it was a great payoff a the end. I had a love/hate relationship with Eve herself, she annoyed me a lot and I felt that Carey had not rounded her out as a character as much as she did for Caleb and Arden. However, the further on in the book I got, I came to the hypothesis that Carey purposely leaves Eve the character to be flat because of her sheltered nature and upbringing.

I fell in love with Caleb before Eve did, the swoon-worthy blonde who rescues and shelters her. while he is not Peeta (who is, really?) he was a refreshing take on the cute hero type popping up in dystopians lately. I am interested to see what their relationship evolves into in subsequent books.

I very rarely cry when I read books ( can count the amount of books i have shed tears while reading on one hand) but I did tear up at the end of Eve. I’ll be spoiler-less and not elaborate.

I cannot wait until the next installment and hope for an even stronger second book in this fresh trilogy!

If you liked Hunger Games, and you ate up Wither, try Eve! 

Leave a Reply

