Once Upon a Time Review

I had been anticipating ‘Once Upon a Time’ since I first heard of it this spring. The idea of a television show revolving around fairy tale characters seemed to good to be true. I am sure there are people who wouldn’t be open to this concept but I am not one of them. It was an agonizing wait to get to October 23rd when the series premiered. With that said, here are my thoughts on the first episode:

 

The story blended very well between the fairy tale pre-curse and post curse worlds. I thought Ginnifer Goodwin was amazing as Snow White/Teacher. I did have some trouble identifying Jiminy Cricket until there was a line that pointed him out in an obvious manner. The introductions to Granny, Little Red Riding Hood, and Rumpelstiltskin were subtle and fabulous.

I am a little perplexed if Emma Swan and Henry are based on actual fairy tale characters or fictional characters. Can anyone answer this for me? Jennifer Morrison was good as Emma Swan but I wasn’t completely convinced of her character and her place in the world. Perhaps a few more episodes will solidify this for me.

Overall, I thought it was quite good and I am interested in seeing how other episodes hold up. I am also interested in Grimm, which debuts this Friday, October 28.

 

Let the fairy tale television show smack down begin!

Leave a Reply

