October Reading Goals

Hello! It’s been awhile, but I’d like to announce I will be participating in Blogtober! I will be posting something everyday for the next 30 days. I’m already behind by a post but hopefully I will achieve my goal!

I’ve decided to make some changes to my reading habits for fall. Starting last winter I have been reading YA almost exclusively, but I’d like to be a bit more well-rounded with what I read. Do you have certain fall reading goals? Please share them!

My first goal is to read some classics I have not yet read. I’d like to read something new (to me) from a Bronte sister, Dickens, and Eliot. I am also hoping to re-read some Austen.

Additionally, I’d like to get through all the post-Comic Con titles that are staring me down. So far, I’ve completed Eve by Anna Carey and Crossed by Ally Condie. I’m 100 pages from completing Legend by Marie Lu. I still have the following to read from Comic Con:

1. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

2. Dark Inside By Jeyn Roberts

3. Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma

4. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

5. Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsey

Also, in a mere fortnight, two books I have been waiting for will be released. On October 18 both Beautiful Chaos by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl and The Lady of the Rivers by Philippa Gregory will be published. Beautiful Chaos is the hotly anticipated third book in the Caster Chronicles series. A novella was published in electronic form only this August. It is customary for me to buy a Phillipa Gregory novel the day it is released. I ended up preordering both titles via Barnes and Noble using a gift card I got for my birthday. I hope they both arrive on my doorstep on or before October 18th! This brings me to my next reading goal:

I NEED to read The Other Queen and The Red Queen both by Philippa Gregory before the 18th. Sadly, my dear PG has been pushed aside during my insatiable YA Fever (which also happens to be the title of Lauren DeStefano’s second novel from the Wither trilogy).

I’m also hoping to read some Medieval ghost stories, see my friend’s blog Pure Medievalry for more information.

October is a very social month for me so I hope I can carve out some serious reading time!

Happy October & Blogtober everyone!

2 thoughts on “October Reading Goals

  1. When you get done with Shattered Souls, let me know what you thought. I keep hoping to get a hold of an ARC, but sadly I don’t think that is going to work out for me. Sigh

  2. Whenever I finally get to it, I will let you know! 🙂 I’m super “booked up” right now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

