My dalliance with E-reading

Until recently, I have been staunchly averse to e-readers. I have several friends and one late literature professor who own them, and they  praised their ease and portability. I just cannot wrap my head around not having a physical book, with the hand turned pages, typeset, and the smell. The new book smell. The old book smell.

However averse I’ve been, two authors, (I’m looking at you Kami & Margie!) challenged my aversion by publishing a companion novella to their popular YA series in e-format only. I begrudgingly downloaded Kindle for Mac for my Macbook Pro. I grimaced as I pushed “Pre-order” for Dream Dark. I anguished over dipping a toe in the ocean of e-reading. But for Kami & Margie, and Link, I did it. I read an e-book!

Dream Dark was well worth the 1.99 I paid and the millions of bullets I had sweat over this transition. Reading on my Macbook Pro was pretty comfortable; however, the kindle for Mac interface was a bit tricky to maneuver at first.

I do think I may try more e-reading in the future, specifically for traveling. I have a personal anecdote to formally support this decision:

While flying cross-country to visit family, I was detained in my hometown airport by a security agent circa 2003. He proceeded to take my paperback copy of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire for closer examination, and the following conversation took place:

Him: “What is this?”

Me: “A Harry Potter Book.”

Him: “Why is it so big?”

Me: “I don’t know, ask J.K. Rowling who wrote it.”

Yeah…. so if I ended up traveling with an e-reader, I’d bypass the following idiocy, but will forsake the opportunity to concoct responses like the awesome snarky comment that resulted. Sigh. Decisions, Decisions.

Leave a Reply

